Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Ashton Athletic Football Club

View

FA Cup deadlock for 1st team at Worksop Town

1 year ago By The Yellows

Worksop Town 2 Ashton Athletic 2

Goals from Joel Brownhill and Danny Smith earned Ashton Athletic a draw away to Worksop Town in the Emirates FA Cup. Ashton took the lead in the 1st half after just 6 minutes thanks to Brownhill but the scores were level within a minute as Adams equalised.

Against the run of play Worksop Town took the lead in the 33rd minute with a goal from Woolley which took us through to half time and a 2-1 lead for the home side.

It seemed with a little patience Ashton would get back into the game and so it proved as we were awarded a penalty in the 52nd minute. Danny Smith converted and brought the score to 2-2.

Although chances were created at both ends and Ashton could have won it late on, the deadlock couldn't be broken and the game finished a draw after 90 minutes.
Attendance 486

The replay will be played on Tuesday 23rd August at Brocstedes Park with a 19:45 kick off.

Updated 23:46 - 21 Aug 2016 by Peter Barton

Where next?

Emirates FA Cup Replay Ashton Athletic v Worksop Town - Tue 23rd Aug 19:45 ko

Results
Sat 12 May
a
First Team Barnoldswick Town
League 1 – 3
W
Thu 10 May
h
First Team Irlam
League 0 – 2
L
Wed 9 May
h
First Team Burscough
League 2 – 4
L
Mon 7 May
h
First Team Widnes
League 0 – 1
L
Sat 5 May
a
League 4 – 2
L
Thu 3 May
a
First Team Congleton Town
League 0 – 2
W
Tue 1 May
h
First Team Barnoldswick Town
League 3 – 2
W
Sat 28 Apr
h
First Team Runcorn Town
League 3 – 1
W

News sponsors

Affiliations

Club sponsors